Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Fuel Storage

I learned by a mistake, when it came to storage of gasoline. I used to have a metal 55 gallon drum of gas in the back of my truck which eventually was replaced by a blue, food grade plastic 55 gallon drum. (I have seen websites that claim never to store gasoline in the blue plastic barrels, but I had no problems with the plastic for over 10 years. My tank sat in full sun with temperatures through the summer exceeding 110 degrees. I removed the tank to make more room in the bed for hauling across country.) I had constructed a frame out of 2 x 4′s for it to sit side-ways up against the cab. It was a low-profile carriage that was secured with carriage bolts. On each side, I used one piece of 2X4 a bit longer (6 inches) than the diameter of the barrel and two more short pieces of 2×4 cut at an angle to fit around the circumference of the barrel held with bolts to the bed. I had now extended my range to over 1,000 miles without a fill-up.

I also mounted an electric solenoid to either allow the gas through, or to seal it off, so that I could still use the main tanks that came standard equipment. Under the steering wheel, low on the dash, I put a toggle switch that went to the electric soleniod. I have a 73 GMC that still had a metal dash.

The problems I encountered was that condensation on the inside top of the barrel produced rust, and it didn’t take long for the rust to mess up the carburetor. There were filters in line, but the filters wouldn’t keep the rust out. I had to either replace the filters with expensive ceramic filters, or change the barrel to plastic. I changed the barrel.

I used a short L piece of metal pipe as both the way to fill the barrel and a way to access the tank with a plastic fuel line. To make the fuel line sink to the bottom I attached some fishing lead weights and used more than enough fuel line for it to sink to the bottom. The fuel line was in two pieces with a copper tube in the L pipe. Back to the L piece of 2 inch pipe, I drilled a hole for the copper tube fuel to pass through near the bottom of the L with rubber fuel lines to the tank and to the electric selinoid, secured with small worm clamps. To prevent gasoline from sloshing out the hole where the hole had been drilled for the copper tubing, I used gas tank repair putty. The original metal cap for the 55 gallon drum then was used on top of the L pipe. I drilled a small hole in the metal cap and fitted a very small piece of copper tubing that stood straight up, as breather-hole. This piece I soldiered into place; of coarse far from the gasoline on a garage bench.
To do something similar, or to even store gasoline, I highly recommend that you use a gas preservative to keep the gas fresh for a year. Gasoline has a tenancy to break down after 6 months and has a smell of shellac. I would still use a plastic blue barrel to store gasoline in, if I have a choice. For the average person storing gasoline, keep it in the shade and the cap locked down tight. Use the gasoline extender, and consider purchasing a pump to fit the barrel for easier fill-ups.

Diesel will last a bit longer than gasoline, 6 months to a year. When I worked for the Dep. of Energy, driving a fuel truck, they would have me top off a 2,000 gallon tank with less than 100 gallons in case of an emergency. These tanks never used more than 100 gallons and sat there for years. Use your own judgment on diesel fuel storage.

Wood Gas

During WWII, Germany had a problem with fuel, they depended on wood gas Wood gas can replace gasoline and diesel and probably should be replaced in a survival situation. This will take some mechanics know how to construct as wood gas generator that will work in an emergency. How does wood gas work?   How do I build a wood gas generator? Like I said, mechanics know how. This is a great site for pictures, and the history of wood gas.   Wood gas doesn’t have to use just wood, here is one that runs on used coffee grounds.  Lots of videos on that last link.

Next post I’ll cover drip gas!! another alternative.

Some News on why ‘Survival’

 

U.S. Army Domestic Quick Reaction Force Riot Control Training Photos
The following photos are from March and February of this year and were taken at Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Washington. The first four photos from March depict riot control training for a “domestic quick reaction force” that would aid in civil disturbances. The second set of photos from February depict the 67th Military Police Company that typically mans the area’s Regional Correctional Facility attempting to quell riots among “restless prison inmates” that have created a disturbance. (The military is getting ready, maybe the next two news items will give you a hint as to why.

Michael Savage: How Obama fixed 2012 election
video

Do the Media Want a Race War?
It’s no surprise that Al Sharpton and his fellow rabble-rouser, Jesse Jackson, are doing everything they can to stir passions to the boiling point regarding the death of Trayvon Martin in Sanford, Florida. That’s been their modus operandi for more than 20 years. (Race is not an issue with me, never has been. But I also see reports of the Black Panthers becoming more militant over the death of Trayvon Martin. The next link says it all. Are they trying to start a Race War? If would take heat off other domestic problems. )

CNN’s N-Word Obsession [Video]
CNN, which has been battling with MSNBC for second place in the cable news ratings and losing far more often than it’s winning, has seemingly embarked on a new plan to gain viewers’ attention by its consistent use of the N-word on the air.

Unless you just love to be tracked, leave the cell phone home!! 

